American West Hockey League


AWHL Announce 2012 League Awards

Date: Mar 13, 2012
Bookmark and Share
AWHL Announce 2012 League Awards


The American West Hockey League is proud to announce the 2012 League Awards


Most Valuable Player: Ryan Parkhouse - Helena Bighorns

Parkhouse only played 25 games in the 2011-2012 season before he received a season ending injury in late December.  In those 25 games, “Parky” racked up 27 goals and 29 assists for an incredible 56 points.  Parkhouse finished 7th in overall scoring, playing only half of the season.  In 1.5 years with the Bighorns he accrued 160 points in 72 regular season games.  One can only imagine what the numbers would be if he had had the opportunity to play the entire season. 

Scoring Leader: Daniel Chang – Billings Bulls

Chang racked up a league leading 81 points in 41 games. With 37 goals that led the AWHL he tacked on 44 helpers.  Daniel played in all situations for the Bulls this year also leading the league in Short Handed goals and had 27 points on the power play. 

Best Forward: Taylor Motsinger – Gillette Wild

Taylor played 46 games for the Gillette Wild this season and put up 69 points with 36 goals and 33 assists.   These numbers put him at #3 in overall scoring in the American West Hockey League.  Taylor’s contribution to the Wild has helped to put Gillette into the playoffs in their very first season in the American West Hockey League. 

Best Defenseman: Blair Murphy- Missoula Maulers

Blair has played his second year with the Missoula Maulers and has made the most of it.  In 48 games, Murphy racked up 39 points on 10 goals and 29 assists.  These numbers put him tied for second in the league in defensemen scoring.  In addition to being named best defenseman, Blair has also been awarded the Maulers’ Community Service Award for his contributions to the Missoula community this past season. 

Best Goaltender: Jett Salinas – Helena Bighorns

Jett played in 21 games for the Bighorns this year, winning 17 and losing 4 and had a league leading GAA of 1.63.  In addition, he accrued a league tying 4 shut-outs and a league best 93.6% save percentage.  For his efforts, Jett was also brought up to the Wenatchee Wild for a couple of weeks to get the opportunity to see what is in store for him at the next level.

Rookie of the year: Beau Ricketts – Helena

Beau had a stand out first season for the powerful Helena Bighorns.  At the age of 17 he has averaged over a point a game in his first year in the American West Hockey League.  Ricketts dished out 25 assists and scored 23 times this year including 3 game winning goals.  He ranked in the top 5 in AWHL +/- proving a very dependable player for coach Cunningham. With his talents the Bighorns look to make a run for the AWHL championship.

Co-Scholastic Player of the Year: Cody Blom – Helena Bighorns

Cody has been able to juggle a full class schedule at Montana State University and make the daily commute to Helena to practice as well as home and away games.  Blom graduated high school at the top of his class while fitting in a stringent hockey schedule.  His grades are exemplary as he currently carries a top GPA while enrolled in pre-med courses en route to attending medical school once he attains his undergraduate degree.

Co-Scholastic Player of the Year: Dunk Abbott – Missoula Maulers

After starting the season with the University of Montana Grizzly football team, Dunk joined the Maulers in November.  Dunk graduated with a 4.0 GPA and scored a 30 on his ACT last spring, and through his first semester at the U of M, Dunk is carrying a 3.91 GPA.

Coach of the Year: Marcus Baxter – Missoula Maulers

This is Coach Baxter’s second year as head coach of the Missoula Maulers, and coincidently his second time winning this award.  Baxter has led the Maulers to their best season in franchise history, and their first regular season championship with 41 wins and 83 points.   In the 2 years that he has coached the Missoula Maulers he has accrued 75 wins against 23 losses. 

Click here to go back to news articles